Passport Renewal UAE 2026: Emirati Fees, Expat Embassy Routes and Timing

Dubai skyline with the Burj Khalifa

Passport renewal UAE costs AED 65 for an Emirati citizen: a AED 10 request fee, a AED 40 issue fee and AED 15 delivery, according to Wego. An Emirati adult aged 21 or older receives a passport valid for 10 years. Foreign residents in the UAE do not renew with the UAE government at all. They renew at their own country’s embassy or consulate, and the fees vary by nationality.

If you’re researching passport renewal UAE, the first question is which passport you hold. The UAE issues passports only to its own citizens, through the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP). Everyone else renews through an embassy or consulate in Abu Dhabi or Dubai, usually via an outsourced application centre. This guide covers the Emirati process, validity, fees and photo rules, how foreign residents renew, two examples with 2026 fees (India and Pakistan), the link between passport and Emirates ID renewal, and the places where the sources disagree. It draws on a Wego guide (updated July 2024), a Gulf News report on the 10-year passport (7 July 2024), a Pakistan Observer article (21 April 2025), a Best Solution guide (published 13 May 2026, modified 3 August 2026), a Property Finder guide (5 February 2026), Gulf News (30 June 2026) and Khaleej Times (17 July and 23 April 2026). The official u.ae and ICP pages could not be opened from our tools, and several sources are older, so confirm each fee on the ICP portal or with your embassy before you pay. For how renewal works in the United States, see our passport renewal guide.

How Much Does Passport Renewal UAE Cost for Emiratis?

AED 65 in total, according to Wego and the Pakistan Observer. The two sources give the same breakdown.

Wego says payment is by credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. The Pakistan Observer attributes its figures to unnamed “reports,” and the official u.ae page does not state fees. Over a 10-year validity, AED 65 works out to AED 6.50 per year (65 divided by 10). The sources do not say whether the under-21 passport, valid for 5 years, costs the same, but if it does the cost is AED 13 per year (65 divided by 5). A renewal from abroad costs AED 60 and takes about 20 working days, according to Wego, which is a different service from the domestic one.

How Long Is a UAE Passport Valid?

Up to 10 years for citizens aged 21 and over, and 5 years for those under 21. Gulf News reports that the 10-year validity began on 8 July 2024, replacing the earlier 5 years, after the UAE Cabinet approved it in March 2024. The u.ae page says a citizen aged 21 or older gets a 10-year passport, or until all pages are used if that comes first. A passport cannot be extended after expiry, so you must apply for a new one.

The u.ae page says renewal can be requested six months before expiry. The Pakistan Observer says it can be requested within a certain period after expiry but does not state how long. Wego adds that travelers generally need at least six months of validity remaining, which is the destination’s rule and not a UAE renewal rule.

Applicant renewing a passport online on a phone

How Do Emiratis Renew Online?

Sign in to ICP with UAE Pass, choose “Issuing a passport,” pick the family member, select renewal and pay. Wego lists the steps.

  1. Log in to the ICP portal or create a UAE Pass account first.
  2. Select the “Issuing a passport” service.
  3. Choose the family member whose passport is being renewed.
  4. Select passport renewal as the reason.
  5. Verify the details and update them if needed.
  6. Pay the fee and wait for the confirmation email.

An approved courier delivers the passport. The u.ae page lists the other channels: the UAEICP app, Customer Happiness Centres for special cases, and passport counters at the Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah airports, which work around the clock for emergencies only. Wego warns that not every Customer Happiness Centre offers renewal. Best Solution says Emirati citizens can renew a passport and an Emirates ID together in one application through the UAEICP app, if the passport has expired or is about to and the Emirates ID expires within six months. The app shows the combined option only when both conditions are met.

Blank documents and a passport photo on a desk

Which Documents and Photo Do Emiratis Need?

The old passport, the Emirates ID, the family book and a compliant photo. Wego lists the following.

  • The old passport.
  • The Emirates ID, original and copy.
  • The family book, original and copy.
  • A photo that meets the latest requirements.
  • A sponsor letter, which Wego marks as optional.

The u.ae page says the photo must have a white background and meet International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) specifications, with eyes open and no hands above the shoulders, and that you can reuse a recent photo already held by ICP. Wego gives a size of 35 mm by 40 mm, taken within the last six months, in colour at 600 dots per inch. The u.ae page gives 5.5 cm by 4.5 cm in one place, so check the size on the portal. Wego says a personal photo is no longer required in one place but still lists one in another.

How Long Does It Take?

About 48 hours online, and about 24 hours at a Customer Happiness Centre. Wego says the renewed passport is issued electronically 48 hours after the request is received and accepted. Its page dates from July 2024, so the times may have changed.

What If an Emirati Is Abroad?

Request renewal through the UAEICP app or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs smart channel and collect at the UAE embassy or consulate. The u.ae page says citizens whose passports have expired, been lost or been damaged overseas can request renewal through digital channels and must choose delivery to the UAE embassy or consulate in their country of residence. Wego lists the steps for those abroad for education, medical treatment or work: log in with UAE Pass, choose “Passport Renewal for UAE Nationals Abroad,” and an SMS tells you to visit the mission, collect the new passport and hand in the old one. Documents are a copy of the old passport, proof of living abroad and a personal photo. Emergency renewals are not available through that service, but an emergency passport may be issued instead.

Expat family at an embassy service centre in Dubai

How Do Foreign Residents Renew a Passport in the UAE?

Through their own country’s embassy or consulate in the UAE, not through ICP. Best Solution is explicit that expat residents renew the passport at their home embassy and the Emirates ID separately through ICP, tied to the residency visa. The order matters: renew the passport first, then update the Emirates ID with the new passport number, because renewing the passport does not update the ID automatically.

Each embassy sets its own fees, appointment system and timeline, and many use an outsourced application centre. The sources give 2026 figures for only two nationalities, shown below. For any other nationality, ask your embassy for its current schedule.

India’s fees rose on 1 July 2026 from AED 285 for a normal 36-page passport, an increase of AED 165 or about 58 percent (165 divided by 285). Gulf News says the outsourced provider’s service fee and a welfare charge of AED 8.05 are added at the counter. Khaleej Times reported in April 2026 that Alhind Tours and Travels would replace BLS International as the provider of Indian consular services, with a unified charge of AED 19 above the mandated service fees, and hoped to start on 1 July 2026. No exact date was set then, so ask which provider handles your appointment. Pakistan’s missions in Abu Dhabi and Dubai issue only e-passports from 20 July 2026 according to one Khaleej Times report, while another says processing as e-passports began on 23 October 2026, so ask your mission when it applies to you.

What Do Foreign Residents Need to Update After Renewal?

The Emirates ID, and possibly the residence visa details. Best Solution says the Emirates ID renewal fee is AED 100 per year of validity plus ICP service fees and a delivery charge. You can renew up to six months before expiry, there is a 30-day grace period after expiry with no penalty, and the late fine is AED 20 per day afterwards, capped at AED 1,000. Fines must be paid before renewal. Property Finder says spelling differences between your details and your passport data can cause delays, and that anyone aged 15 or older may be asked for fingerprints and a signature.

A resident should therefore renew the passport first and update the ID second.

Which Route Fits Which Applicant?

Use ICP if you are an Emirati citizen and your embassy if you are a foreign resident. The table lines up the options.

How Reliable Are the Sources?

The Emirati figures rest on two sources and the foreign resident figures on fresher news reports. The Wego and Pakistan Observer breakdown of AED 65 matches, but Wego’s page dates from July 2024, and the Pakistan Observer article is from April 2025 and relies on unnamed reports. The u.ae page is the official source on channels and validity but states no fees. Best Solution and Property Finder are commercial guides.

Treat the AED 65 fee and the 48-hour timing as unconfirmed. The 10-year validity and the six-month window are the most reliable points, since the u.ae page and Gulf News both support them.

What Should You Check Before You File?

Confirm your category, your fee and your photo. Three quick checks save the most time.

  1. Decide whether you hold an Emirati passport or a foreign one.
  2. For a foreign passport, book through your embassy’s current provider.
  3. Renew the passport before the Emirates ID, not after.

An Emirati family renewing four passports at AED 65 each would pay AED 260, if the fee is the same for every member.

Which Mistakes Delay Passport Renewal UAE?

Assuming the UAE renews every passport and using an unofficial site cause most delays. Check each point first.

  • Assuming ICP renews passports for foreign residents.
  • Using a photo that does not meet the ICAO rules.
  • Missing the six-month window and letting the passport expire.
  • Expecting to extend a passport after expiry.
  • Forgetting to choose the embassy or consulate for delivery when abroad.
  • Paying through a site that is not the ICP portal.
  • Updating the Emirates ID before the new passport arrives.
  • Relying on a fee from an unnamed report.

FAQs

How much does passport renewal UAE cost for Emiratis?

AED 65 in total: AED 10, AED 40 and AED 15 for delivery, according to Wego.

Can foreigners renew a passport in the UAE?

No. Foreign residents renew through their own embassy or consulate in the UAE.

How long is a UAE passport valid?

Up to 10 years for citizens aged 21 and over, and 5 years for those under 21.

How early can I renew?

Six months before expiry, according to the u.ae page.

How long does it take?

About 48 hours online, according to Wego, though that page dates from July 2024.

Can I renew from outside the UAE?

Yes, through the UAEICP app with delivery to the UAE embassy or consulate, at AED 60.

Conclusion

Passport renewal UAE costs AED 65 for an Emirati adult, and the passport is valid for 10 years from age 21. Foreign residents renew at their own embassy, so check that embassy’s fee first.

Sources

Last checked: November 2026

Search Blog

Explore By CATEGORIES

Table of Contents

Share this articles in your circle

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Email
Skype
Telegram
Threads
Reddit
X
Digg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Picture of Daniel Carter
Daniel Carter

Daniel Carter is a content writer at OmniAbroad, covering study abroad, visas and immigration, international travel, airports, accommodation, scholarships, and practical tools and resources. He focuses on creating clear, useful guides that help readers research destinations, understand requirements, compare options, and plan international journeys with confidence.

Related Post

Stay Updated !

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest study abroad tips and updates.

Scroll to Top